India bat first after Dhoni wins toss

August 24th, 2008 - 4:00 pm ICT by IANS  

Colombo, Aug 24 (IANS) Sri Lanka’s captain Mahela Jayawardene lost his fifth successive toss in the series and was forced to field at the R. Premadasa Stadium here. Indian skipper M.S. Dhoni had no hesitation in batting first after winning the toss in good batting conditions in the first of the three day-night games. Opener Gautam Gambhir returned to the side after missing the second game with a stiff neck while left-arm seamer Chaminda Vaas is returning to the Sri Lankan side in place of Dilhara Fernando. The Indians, meanwhile, left out seam bowler Irfan Pathan.

The series is squared at 1-1. Sri Lanka won the first ODI at the Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium by eight wickets while the Indians bounced back to win the second game by three wickets at the same venue.

The fourth and fifth ODIs will be played on August 26h and 29. Both games will be day- night affairs.

Following are the teams:

Sri Lanka:
Mahela Jayawardene (Captain), Kumar Sangakkara, Sanath Jayasuriya, Chamara Silva, Chamara Kapugedara, Tillekeratne Dilshan, Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan, Ajantha Mendis, Thilina Tushara Mirando and Nuwan Kulasekara.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Sriram Badrinath, Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel and Praveen Kumar.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and T.H. Wijewardene (SL)
Third Umpire: Gamini Silva (SL)
Match Referee: Chris Broad (Eng)

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |