I want to get back to work soon: Dikshit

December 9th, 2008 - 6:08 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Dec 9 (IANS) A day after she found a place in the record books by steering her party to a third consecutive victory in Delhi, Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit is eager to get back to work. “The official work in the Delhi assembly has been affected in last one-and-half months due to the election process. I want to get back to work soon as many important projects are pending,” Dikshit told IANS.

“I am looking forward to the Commonwealth Games 2010. A lot of work has to be done and once back in office I will personally handle everything,” she said.

Celebrations are still on at Dikshit’s official residence at 3, Motilal Nehru Marg, where people carrying bouquets, garlands and sweets have been swarming since the election results were declared Monday.

People of all ages - from a six-year-old girl who wanted Dikshit’s autograph to a 90-year-old man from Bihar - could be seen at the chief minister’s house. The visitors also included celebrities like famous Sarod player Amjad Ali Khan and well-known Hindi poet Surender Sharma.

“I have wished Dikshit for her historic victory and gave her best wishes to keep doing great work. She is really a leader and icon of people of all age groups. The most important thing is that she is very down-to-earth,” Khan said after meeting Dikshit.

A group of people from Unnao in Uttar Pradesh, from where Dikshit’s in-laws hail, had also come to wish her.

“We are thankful to her as she has made our town proud. It is her hard work and dedication that brought success to Dikshit,” said Benarsi Lal, a teacher from Unnao.

Earlier, Dikshit visited her eye specialist in south Delhi following an eye infection.

“She (Dikshit) could hardly sleep for two or three hours as her supporters started coming very early. Throughout the day she will be meeting people besides some meetings,” a close aide of Dikshit said.

The Congress won 42 seats in the 70-member Delhi assembly, while the opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had to be content with 23 seats. The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) managed to open its account and won two seats while the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) bagged one seat.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |