I have not mimicked Achuthanandan: Thilakan

August 24th, 2008 - 5:32 pm ICT by IANS  

Thiruvananthapuram, Aug 24 (IANS) Thespian actor Thilakan, who plays a Kerala chief minister in the latest Malayalam film “Aayudham”, Sunday said he has not mimicked V.S. Achuthanandan, who heads the state government.”Any artiste mimicking a real-life personality is an insult to the person. All that I did was to observe Achuthanandan and his mannerism and I have just used his certain mannerism,” Thilakan told reporters here Sunday.

Directed by politician turned film director M.A. Nishad, the recent political developments in the state of Kerala have been woven in the film in which superstar Suresh Gopi plays with ease the role of a police official named Rishikesh.

Incidentally, the name Rishikesh sounds quite like Rishiraj, the Inspector General of Police who as a trusted officer of Achuthanandan was instrumental in bulldozing encroaching buildings at the picturesque hill station in Munnar last year.

“I have certain principles in life and hence I do not insult people. I watched closely the way Achuthanandan conducts his press conference and makes political speeches. All that I did was to polish the mannerism of Achuthanandan. Believe me, I am really happy that I have done a good role,” said Thilakan.

He said Achuthanandan’s mannerism was really tough to adapt.

“Even though I do not know him personally, I know him since I was a kid. Achuthanandan is one politician who has really come up from the lowest strata of the society and I do respect him,” said Thilakan.

The film also delves deep into the factional feud of the Communist Party of India-Marxist in Kerala.

“This is my third film and the previous two were on social subjects. Since I did not want to be branded, it was a conscious decision to do an out and out commercial film,” said Nishad.

The cast includes Bharathy, who became a sensation in Tamil film industry with “Ammuvagiya Naan”, enters the Malayalam industry playing the female lead of the movie.

Also in the cast are Karthika, Jagathy, Rajan P. Dev, Bala, Aadhitya, Keerikkadan Jose, Baburaj, Sidheesh, Biju Pappan, Seema, Suvarna, Urmila Unni and Shivaji Guruvayoor.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |