Gupta’s team win pro-am event

August 31st, 2008 - 9:20 pm ICT by IANS  

Chennai, Aug 31 (IANS) Harendra Gupta’s team, comprising R. Shivaraj, P. Mukherjee and Radhakrishnan, won the Pro-Am event of the Tamil Nadu Open Golf Championship with 115 points, here Sunday.The event provided amateur golfers from Chennai an opportunity to tee off along with some of the top professional golfers in the country.

The Pro-Am event was played on a four-ball team Stableford format wherein the professional score was compulsory along with two best amateur scores out of three amateurs on a hole by hole basis.

PGTI member Rahul Ganapathy’s team were the first runners-up with a score of 113 points. Ganapathy’s team comprised of amateurs Abinav Suresh, S. Suryakumar and J. R. K. Rao.

PGTI member Feroz Ali Mollah’s team comprising of D. Nagaraj, Muthu Kumaran and P. S. Jagdish finished second runners-up with 110 points.

The prize for the closest shot to the pin on the second hole was won by S. Ramamirtham as his tee shot landed just two metres and 13 cms short of the pin.

The prize for the longest drive on the seventh hole was bagged by Vinayak Krishna who came up with a 326-yard drive.

R. Shivaraj won the contest for the straightest drive on the 10th hole. His drive was just one foot away from the centre of the fairway.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |