Gaurav, Dilip underline their class JK Tyre National Racing

February 15th, 2009 - 10:48 pm ICT by IANS  

Chennai, Feb 15 (IANS) Defending champion in the Formula Rolon-Chevrolet class Gaurav Dalal and India’s top rider Dilip Rogger lent the first round of 12th JK Tyre National Racing Championship some much needed class and sanity amidst crashes and spins at the MMST circuit in Sriperumbudur, here Sunday.

Driving for Red Rooster team, Dalal, or ‘Pukka’ to his friends, made the best of good fortune to win the only race in his class.

Running third for much of the eight-lap race, Dalal was virtually gifted the first place as the leader Aditya Patel went off track, missing a right-hander, and second-placed Saran Vikram gave way after the front wing suffered a damage.

Even then, Dalal, the 2008 champion, despite an ill-handling machine, drove a fine race to keep pace with the front-runners and when the opportunity presented, capitalized to pick up full points.

Meanwhile, 24-year old Rogger, on a 600cc Honda CBR, kept his composure to win the Super Bikes race that was red-flagged and then re-started after a couple of accidents that saw Alisha Abdullah, the only female competitor, and Alok Shashidhar crashed. Both walked away with minor injuries.

The race witnessed utter confusion after Shashidhar’s crash at Turn-4. The riders were unsure whether the race was stopped or was still running as the yellow and white flags were being shown.

Consequently, several riders, on reaching the start-finish line slowed down before the marshal held up “three-laps to go” sign to send them on their way.

During the confusion, Alisha, closely following Sumit Lucas Toppo, stood on her breaks to avoid running into him. In the process, she was thrown off the bike. The race was immediately red-flagged as Alisha received first-aid on the spot and was taken away in an ambulance to the on-track medical facility. She was discharged with her arm in a sling as a precautionary measure.

Speaking to IANS, Alisha said: “I was lining up to overtake him (Toppo) coming into the last corner when he suddenly slowed down. I jammed the brakes and was thrown off. I think he slowed down after seeing the riders stopped at the star-finish line.”

The race was re-started to complete the remaining four laps that Rogger expectedly dominated.

In the Super Saloon class, Coimbatore’s veteran B Vijaykumar won both the races today after pole-sitter Akbar Ebrahim retired twice due to mechanical problems.

Vijaykumar’s win in the second race was particularly stunning as he made a daring move on the outside to pass Ebrahim at the treacherous Turn-2 to underline his supremacy in this category.

Bangalore’s Sudarshan Rao representing Team TVS Girling, won the LGB Swift race after favourite and pole-sitter Vishnu Prasad, who had finished first in opening race last evening, spun out of contention.

The results (all 8 laps):

Formula Rolon - 1. Gaurav Dalal 15:05:245; 2. Saran Vikram 15:05:388; 3. Sarosh Hataria 15:23:703.

Formula LGB Swift - Race 2: 1. Sudarshana Rao 15:58:964; 2. Prithveen Rajan 16:01:037; 3. Goutham Parekh 16:05:252.

Super Saloons - Race 1 - 1. B.Vijayakumar 16:44:471; 2. D. Vidhya Prakash 16:45:604; 3. Siddarth Kishore 17:00:740. Race 2 - 1. B.Vijayakumar 16:42:393; 2. B.Sailesh 16:45:397; 3. C. Rajaram 16:51:123.

Super Bikes: 600 cc - Expert: Race 2 - 4 laps - 1. Dilip Rogger 07:53:799; 2. S.Gopinandhan 08:17:524; 3. Kiran Babu 09:38:091.

600 cc -General: Race 2 - 4 laps - 1. Vivek Pillai 08:10:532; 2. Sumit Lucas 08:28:048; 3. K.V.Balaji 08:30:061.

1000 cc - Race 2 - 4 laps - 1. V. Vikram 07:54:284; 2. Mazhar Ahmed 08:08:818; 3. Sanjay Kumar 08:30:353.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |