Four Muslim legislators retain Delhi seats

December 8th, 2008 - 10:55 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata PartyNew Delhi, Dec 8 (IANS) Legislators of all the four Muslim-dominated constituencies of Seelampur, Ballimaran, Matia Mahal and Okhla retained their seats as results of the Delhi assembly elections were declared Monday.Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad of the Congress, the legislator from Seelampur constituency for three terms, defeated his nearest rival Sita Ram Gupta of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by a margin of 26,474 votes.

In Matia Mahal, the two-time Janata Dal (Secular) MLA Shoaib Iqbal this time contested on the ticket of the Lok Janshakti Party. Iqbal defeated Mehmood Zia of the Congress by a margin of 7,604 votes.

From Ballimaran, Haroon Yusuf, a minister in the Sheila Dikshit government, defeated Moti Lal Sodhi of the BJP by a margin of 6,237 votes. Yusuf fought elections for the first time in 1993, and continued his winning streak in 1998 and 2003 as well.

From Okhla, Congress candidate Parvez Hashmi proved his detractors wrong by winning the elections for the fourth time in a row. In a close fight, Hashmi defeated Asif Mohd Khan of the Rashtriya Janata Dal by a close margin of 541 votes.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |