England win toss, decide to bat first

December 11th, 2008 - 11:35 am ICT by IANS  

Sachin TendulkarChennai, Dec 11 (IANS) England won the toss and decided to bat first against India in their first cricket Test that began Thursday with a two-minute silence in the memory of the victims of the Mumbai terror attack. India have made two changes from the team that played against Australia in Nagpur. Yuvraj Singh replaces Sourav Ganguly and Gautam Gambhir returns in place of Murali Vijay.

The teams:
India - M.S. Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, V.V.S. Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma and Amit Mishra. 12th Man: Subramaniam Badrinath.

England - Kevin Pietersen (captain), Andrew Strauss, Alistair Cook, Ian Bell, Paul Collingwood, Andrew Flintoff, Matt Prior, Graeme Swann, James Anderson, Steve Harmison and Monty Panesar. 12th Man: Owais Shah.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |