England rest Pietersen for one-day series against India

August 27th, 2011 - 3:38 am ICT by IANS  

London, Aug 27 (IANS) England rested their star batsman Kevin Pietersen for the five-match one-day series against India following their 4-0 Test series win. He has, however, been named in the squad for Wednesday’s Twenty20 international.

Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes, who made his debut against Ireland Thursday, is in both squads while Nottinghamshire batsman Alex Hales and Somerset’s Jos Buttler have been included in only the Twenty20 squad.

The one-day series begins at the Riverside Sep 3, preceded by the T20 game at Old Trafford Wednesday.

England chief selector Geoff Miller said the selectors were very excited to have included some bright young players in the form of Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler and Alex Hales, all of whom have proved themselves domestically and will now be looking to successfully take the step up to international level.

“The decision to omit Kevin Pietersen from the one-day squad is in line with our policy of sensibly managing player workloads and will give the opportunity to another batsman to test himself batting at number four,” Miller said.

Alastair Cook is back to lead the one-day side while Stuart Broad will captain the Twenty20 team.

England beat Sri Lanka 3-2 in the one-day series in the first half of English summer, but lost heavily in the only twenty20 game.

One-day squad:

Alastair Cook (Essex, captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire).

Twenty20 squad:

Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire, captain), Ravi Bopara (Essex), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Craig Kieswetter (Somerset), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire).

The schedule:

Aug. 31: Old Trafford (T20); Sep. 3: Riverside; Sep. 6: Rose Bowl (d/n); Sep. 9: The Oval (d/n); Sep. 11: Lord’s; Sep. 16: Cardiff (d/n)

– Indo-Asian News Service

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |