Easy win for Alok Kumar in national snooker

August 5th, 2011 - 8:50 pm ICT by IANS  

Chennai, Aug 5 (IANS) Former champion Alok Kumar (PSPB) warmed up for his title assault in the senior national snooker championship with a comfortable 3-0 win against Nigel D’Souza of Goa in a matter of just 50 minutes here Friday in a preliminary league match.

Also coming through their respective lung-openers were defending champion Pankaj Advani (PSPB) and team-mate Sourav Kothari who is among the front-runners for the title.

Seasoned campaigners Yasin Merchant (Maharashtra), former Asian snooker champion, and Devendra Joshi (PSPB) too won their matches in a canter. Joshi displayed good touch while crafting a break of 80.

Meanwhile, the winning sequence of qualifier Nigel Lazar (Tamil Nadu) ended when he lost to Pushpinder Singh of the Railways after having beaten MS Arun (Karnataka) in his opening league fixture and posting a break of 87.

Another qualifier, Faisal Khan (Railways) was taken to five frames by Divya Sharma (Haryana) before clinching the decider on breaks of 45 and 44.

The results (preliminary league):

Group A: Pankaj Advani (PSPB) bt Ranbir Singh Yadav (Raj) 3-0; Group B: Kamal Chawla (Rlys) bt Vijay Nichani (TN) 3-2. Group C: Manu Dev (Kar) bt Simranjeet Singh (Raj) 3-0; Group D: Manan Chandra (PSPB) bt Vikas Sharma (UP) 3-0. Group E: Lucky Vatanani (AP) bt Sumesh Turkey (JK) 3-0; Manish Jain (WB) bt Vivek Chopra (Har) 3-0. Group G: Mumtaz Ali (Jhar) bt Nigel D’Souza (Goa) 3-0; Alok Kumar (PSPB) bt Nigel D’Souza (Goa) 3-0. Group H: Faisal Khan (Del) bt Shabaaz Adil Khan (PSPB) 3-2; Anuj Uppal (Mah) bt Siddarth Rao (TN) 3-0. Group I: Sourav Kothari (PSPB) bt Malkeet Singh (UP) 3-0. Group J: Yasin Merchant (Mah) bt Venkatesham.K (Rlys) 3-2; Venkatesam K (Rlys) bt Anees Saini (Har) 3-1. Group K: Devendra Joshi (PSPB) bt Jai Shankar Shaw (Jhar) 3-0; Ketan Sabachandani (Guj) bt Jai Shankar Shaw (Jhar) 3-2. Group L: Neeraj Kumar (Rlys) bt Jasim Tawin (Kar) 3-2; Bharat Sisiddiya (MP) bt Jaism Tawin (Kar) 3-2. Group M: Faisal Khan (Rlys) bt Divya Sharma (Har) 3-2. Group N: Nigel Lazar (TN) bt MS Arun (Kar) 3-1; Pushpinder Singh (Rlys) bt Nigel Lazar (TN) 3-1. Group O: Amit Bhushan (Kar) bt Shankar Rao (AP) 3-0; Kamal Rohnetra (JK) bt Amit Bhushan (Kar) 3-0. Group P: Brijesh Damani (WB) bt D Rajkumar (Kar) 3-1; D Rajkumar (Kar) bt Shivam (Bih) 3-2.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |