Double for Kraisart, Sucipto in Asia Road Racing

August 7th, 2011 - 9:20 pm ICT by IANS  

Chennai, Aug 7 (IANS) Thailand’s Decha Kraisart completed a fine weekend with a double in the Supersport 600cc class here on Sunday in the third round of the Petronas Asia Road Racing Championship.

Likewise, Indonesian Rafid Topan Sucipto swept the honours in the Underbone 115cc class by winning both the races to cement his position in the championship standings with a tally of 125, having won all the six races in the series so far.

Luck favoured Kraisart through the day. In the first race, that was red flagged after Australian Michael E Jones crashed and suffering a knee fracture, Kraisart, who was behind Azlan Shah Kamaruzzman at that point, managed to sneak past the Malaysian on restart to cross the finish line first.

The second race was virtually a replay as Kamaruzzman once again went past Kraisart with three laps to go. However, in the last lap, the Malaysian ran wide and the wily Thai grabbed the opportunity to streak past and win followed by Australia’s Aaron Morris.

Kraisart said: “I feel good with my machine, but it was not a stroll in the park for me. It was a thinking and planning game as I need to observe before making my move.

“I am glad to be back to my winning ways and I hope it will not just stop here. Title chase is not a mission impossible. I am looking forward for the coming race that will be held in Japan next month.”

For Sucipto, it was a start-to-finish in the Underbone class as the 17-year old was virtually unbeatable in both the races leaving the field chasing his shadow.

The results:

Supdersports 600cc (Race 1): Decha Kraisart (THA) 1 (15mins, 49.209secs); Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (MAS) 2 (15.49.505); Mohd Zamri Baba (MAS) 3 (15:49.910). Race 2: Decha Kraisart (THA) 1 (28:06.919); Mohd Zamri Baba (MAS) 2 (28:07.936); Aaron Morris (AUS) 3 (28:08.074).

Underbone 115cc (Race 1): Rafid Topan Sucipto (INA) 1 (20:11.485); Hadi Wijaya (INA) 2 (20:19.675); Mohd Ramdan Mohd Rosli (MAS) 3 (20:22.058). Race 2: Rafid Topan Sucipto (INA) 1 (20:11.196); Hadi Wijaya (INA) 2 (20:18.082); Ahmad Afif Amran (MAS) 3 (20:23.468).

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |