Dhoni wins toss, India to bat

March 3rd, 2009 - 8:27 am ICT by IANS  

Napier, March 3 (IANS) India’s captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat in the first of the five one-day international cricket matches here Tuesday.
India made three changes from the side that lost the second Twenty20 international against New Zealand in Wellington, bringing in Sachin Tendulkar and medium-pacers Praveen Kumar and Munaf Pate in place of Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma and Irfan Pathan.

New Zealand made one change, fast Bowler Kayle Mills, who missed out the Twenty20 matches, returning to the side in place of Tim Southee.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain & wicketkeeper), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Munaf Patel.

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (Captain), Brendon McCullum (wicketkeeper), Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Neil Broom, Grant Elliott, Jacob Oram, Kyle Mills, Iain OBrien, Ian Butler. 12th man Tim Southee.

Umpires: Rudi Koertzen and Tony Hill. Third umpire: Gary Baxter.

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |