Defector BSP legislator disqualified

October 17th, 2011 - 7:09 pm ICT by IANS  

Bahujan Samaj Party Lucknow, Oct 17 (IANS) Uttar Pradesh’s ruling Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) legislator Krishna Kumar Singh, who had switched loyalties to the Samajwadi Party, was Monday disqualified by Speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar under the anti-defection law.

Talking to mediapersons here, Rajbhar said: “Krishna Kumar Singh is the fourth ruling party legislator to be disqualified under the anti-defection law in the recent past.”

“I initiated action against Singh on a petition moved by BSP state president Swami Prasad Maurya,” he added.

Singh, who represented Mallawan assembly seat under the Hardoi parliamentary constituency, has been disqualified with retrospective effect from Aug 3.

Meanwhile, a petition seeking disqualification of another BSP lawmaker Jitendra Singh Babloo is pending with the speaker.

Others to be disqualified by the speaker are ruling BSP legislators Mahfooz Kidwai from Masauli (Barabanki), Sher Bahadur Singh from Jalalpur (Ambedkar Nagar) and Bhagwan Sharma alias Guddu Pandit from Dibai (Bulandshahar).

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |