CPI-M marks a first in Rajasthan, wins three seats

December 8th, 2008 - 7:59 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Dec 8 (IANS) The Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) for the first time has won three seats in the Rajasthan elections, a party statement said Monday.CPI-M central committee member Amra Ram won from Danta Ramgarh constituency while Pema Ram won from Dhod (SC) and Pawan Kumar Duggal in Anupgarh (SC), the party politburo said in a statement here.

“This is the first time that the CPI-M has won three seats in the Rajasthan assembly. Earlier in all previous elections, the CPI-M has been winning only one seat,” the statement said.

Amra Ram was the sole legislator of the party in the Rajasthan assembly for the past three terms from Dhod constituency.

“This time he has won for the fourth time from the adjoining seat of Danta Ramgarh. Comrade Amra Ram is a member of the central committee of the party and a member of the Rajasthan state secretariat,” the statement added.

CPI-M general secretary Prakash Karat, who campaigned in Rajasthan, Monday congratulated the party state committee on the success.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |