Campaigning ends in West Bengal for fourth phase polling

May 1st, 2011 - 7:46 pm ICT by IANS  

Mamata Banerjee Kolkata, May 1 (IANS) Campaigning for the fourth phase of West Bengal’s assembly elections ended Sunday, as the state geared up for polling in 63 constituencies spread across four districts Tuesday.

Campaigning in the four districts - Howrah, Hooghly, East Midnapore and parts of Burdwan - came to an end at 5 p.m.

Leading political personalities like Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Left Front chairman and Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) state secretary Biman Bose, politburo member Sitaram Yechury, Railway Minister and Trinamool Congress supremo Mamata Banerjee and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Vijay Goel were on the campaign trail.

Yesteryear’s Bollywood actress Zeenat Aman had also campaigned for the Trinamool Congress.

As many as 366 candidates, including state Industries Minister Nirupam Sen, Agriculture Minister Naren Dey, Higher Education Minister Sudarshan Roy Chowdhury, Information and Culture Minister Soumendranath Bera and Fire and Emergency Services Minister Pratim Chatterjee, are in contest in the fourth phase.

The CPI-M is contesting in 46 constituencies, the CPI in six, the Trinamool in 59, the Congress in four, Forward Bloc in seven and the BJP in 63.

A total of 1,262,6126 voters will exercise their franchise Tuesday.

Polls for the 294-member assembly, which started April 18, will end May 10. The counting of votes will take place May 13.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |