Bypolls on in seven Andhra assembly seats

March 18th, 2012 - 12:25 pm ICT by IANS  

Telangana Hyderabad, March 18 (IANS) Bypolls were on in seven assembly constituencies of Andhra Pradesh Sunday, including six that fall in the Telanaga region, with over 13.82 lakh voters eligible to exercise their franchise.

Polling began amid tight security at 8 a.m. The results will decide the fate of 67 candidates belonging to various political parties.

Voters formed long queues outside several polling stations in the constituencies.

Unlike the previous byelections, lack of the Telangana sentiment this time has made the going tough for Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in the six constituencies that fall in the region.

About 10,000 policemen and polling personnel have been deployed for smooth and peaceful conduct of the polling at 1,660 polling centres. Electronic voting machines (EVM) are being used for the polling, which will continue till 5 p.m.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |