Bypoll shock for Congress in Andhra (Lead)

March 21st, 2012 - 2:51 pm ICT by IANS  

Telangana Hyderabad, March 21 (IANS) In a setback to Andhra Pradesh’s ruling Congress, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) bagged four assembly seats while the YSR Congress and an independent won one seat each. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had a narrow lead on a seventh seat.

The by-elections to seven assembly seats, six of them in Telangana region, were held Sunday.

The elections were caused by vacancies that arose due to the resignations of two legislators of the Congress and four rebels of the TDP.

In Mahabubnagar, the election was held due to the death of one independent legislator, who was an associate member of Congress.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |