Break-up of elections in states

March 2nd, 2009 - 5:50 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, March 2 (IANS) While 15 states will hold elections in a single phase, others will conduct the exercise over several days, Chief Election Commissioner N. Gopalaswami announced here Monday.
Jammu and Kashmir and Uttar Pradesh will have an election stretching into five rounds, Bihar will have four phases and Maharashtra and West Bengal will hold the exercise over three days.

Eight states - Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Prdesh, Manipur, Orissa and Punjab - will see two-day elections.

Elections to the 15th Lok Sabha begin April 16 and go on till May 13. The counting will be on May 16.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |