BJP announces 46 candidates, Sushma to contest from Vidisha

March 5th, 2009 - 9:55 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata PartyNew Delhi, March 5 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Thursday announced 46 more candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, including Sushma Swaraj who will contest from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh.
The list was finalised at a meeting of the Central Election Committee, presided over by party president Rajnath Singh, general secretary Arun Jaitley said. The party’s prime ministerial candidate L.K. Advani also attended the meeting.

The list names candidates for 12 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 11 in Chhattisgarh, 12 in Rajasthan and 11 in Karnataka.

BJP Madhya Pradesh unit president Kailash Joshi will seek mandate from the Bhopal constituency, which is considered a party stronghold. Yasodhara Raje will contest from Gwalior while Sumitra Mahajan is the party’s candidate from Indore.

Former central minister Satyanarayan Jatiya will contest from Ujjain. Chhattisgarh BJP strongman Dilip Singh Judeo will be the candidate from the Bilaspur constituency.

Jaitley said the candidates for all seats in Gujarat and the remaining seats in Uttar Pradesh would be decided on March 9.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |