All Delhi ministers win, belie BJP hopes

December 8th, 2008 - 7:20 pm ICT by IANS  

Bharatiya Janata PartyNew Delhi, Dec 8 (IANS) All cabinet ministers of the Congress-led Delhi government emerged victorious Monday, as Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit got ready to form the new government for her third consecutive term.Dikshit won from the New Delhi constituency, Finance Minister A.K. Walia from Laxmi Nagar, Urban Development Minister Raj Kumar Chauhan from Mangolpuri, Health Minister Yoganand Shastri from Mehrauli and Transport Minister Haroon Yusuf from Ballimaran seat.

While Education Minister Arvinder Singh Lovely won from the Gandhi Nagar seat, the minister for industry Mangat Ram Singhal secured his assembly seat from Adarsh Nagar.

The victories of all cabinet ministers also assumes significance as their main opposition Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was heavily relying on the anti-incumbency factor against the Congress, which has been ruling the city for the last 10 years.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |