Afridi, Akmal not in new PCB contracts

August 8th, 2011 - 10:13 pm ICT by IANS  

Karachi, Aug 8 (IANS) Former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi and wicket-keeper Kamran Akmal have not been given central contracts by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

Younis Khan, who was banned on disciplinary ground following 2009-10 Australia tour, figures in category A contract along with captain Misbah-ul-Haq, all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez, spinners Saeed Ajmal and Abdur Rehman, and fast bowler Umar Gul — the only player to be retained in the top category from last year’s list.

Afridi had announced retirement from international cricket after he was sacked from the captaincy after the West Indies tour. Kamran fell out of favour after the World Cup. He was in category A the previous year.

Middle-order batsman Umar Akmal and opener Imran Farhat were retained in category B.

Abdul Razzaq, who was in grade A last year, has been demoted to category B. Left-arm seamer Wahab Riaz, who took five wickets against India in the World Cup semi-final, has also been listed in grade B.

There was understandably no place for the tainted trio of Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Amir and Salman Butt, who were banned for their involvement in the spot-fixing controversy.

Former captain Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Yousuf and Danish Kaneria, who were not picked for the World Cup, have been ignored.

Malik and Kaneria have been dropped since August 2010 as they are yet to be cleared by PCB Integrity Committee for anti-corruption charges. Kaneria was facing corruption case in Essex. Though he was cleared by a police enquiry in Essex, he is yet to be cleared by the PCB.

“As long as Malik and Kaneria are not cleared by the PCB Integrity Committee, a meeting of which is scheduled for August 15, they will not be considered for the contracts,” Intikhab Alam, also the PCB’s director, said at a press conference in Lahore.

The contracts are for six months - July 1 to December 31 this year.

Category A: Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Umar Gul, Mohammad Hafeez, Saeed Ajmal, Abdur Rehman.

Category B: Abdul Razzaq, Imran Farhat, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Wahab Riaz, Taufeeq Umar

Category C :Junaid Khan, Tanvir Ahmed, Hammad Azam, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Khan, Adnan Akmal, Yasir Shah, Rameez Raja, Sharjeel Khan.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |