704 policemen awarded Police Medals

January 25th, 2010 - 7:58 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Jan 25 (IANS) A total of 704 personnel from state police organisations, central paramilitary forces, investigating and other security agencies have been awarded President’s Police Medals on the occasion of the 61st Republic Day.
“President’s Police Medals for distinguished service were given to 77 officers while seven were awarded President’s Police Medals for Gallantry. Police Medals for Gallantry were given to 98 personnel,” a home ministry official said here Monday.

“Police Medals for Meritorious Service have been awarded to 522 personnel,” the official added.

From Delhi Police, S. Nithianandam, joint commissioner for training and recruitment, Alok Kumar, deputy commissioner of special cell, and Om Prakash, assistant commissioner of police in outer Delhi, were awarded with medals for distinguished services.

Four officers of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) were given medals for distinguished services and 15 others were awarded police medals for meritorious services.

From central paramilitaries - the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF), which boasts itself as the world’s largest paramilitary force, five were awarded for distinguished services, 50 for meritorious services, 26 for gallantry, and one for President Medal for Gallantry. The CRPF is largely deployed in states affected by terrorism and Maoist violence.

Three Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) officers were given distinguished services medals and eight others received medals for meritorious services.

President Police Medals for Gallantry were given to Jammu and Kashmir Police head constables Mohammad Rafi and Kanwal Singh, Border Security Force commandant M.S. Rathore, head constable Hardesh Kumar, constable Amrit Hazang and constable Nishan Singh, CRPF constable Baldev Sinh Vaghela (Posthumous).

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |