22 ministers in new Madhya Pradesh government take oath

December 20th, 2008 - 7:44 pm ICT by IANS  

Bhopal, Dec 20 (IANS) Twenty-two ministers, including two women, of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government led by Shivraj Singh Chouhan were administered oath of office in the Madhya Pradesh capital by Governor Balram Jakhar here Saturday. Chouhan has four new faces in the new cabinet that has 14 ministers of cabinet rank and eight junior ministers.

The cabinet ministers include Babulal Gaur, Kailash Vijaywargiya, Ragavji, Nagendra Singh, Anup Misra, Gopal Bhargava, Jayant Malaviya, Gauri Shankar Bisen, Laxmikant Sharma, Ramkrishna Kusumaria, Tukoji Rao Puar, Jagdish Deora, Jagannath Singh and Archana Chitnis.

The ministers of state are Narain Kushwaha, Rajendra Shukla, Devi Singh Sayyam, Paras Jain, Karan Singh Verma, K.L. Agarwal, Harishankar Khatik and Ranjana Baghel.

The BJP bagged 143 of the 230 seats in Madhya Pradesh assembly polls conducted Nov 27. The election results were announced Dec 8.

“The cabinet is balanced. It has been formed keeping in mind the regional balance and caste equations. Efforts have been made to give representation to all the regions and castes in the state,” Chouhan told reporters.

Kailash Vijayvargiya is the fifth time winner from one of the constituencies of the state commercial capital Indore.

Babulal Gaur has won for the ninth time in a row from Govindpura constituency in Bhopal.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |