11 Uttarakhand cops surrender, sent to jail

June 5th, 2012 - 3:41 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, June 5 (IANS) Eleven Uttarakhand policemen allegedly involved in a staged shootout in Dehradun in 2009 Tuesday surrendered before a CBI court here and were sent to jail.

The 11 were identified as Satbir Singh, Sunil Saini, Chander Pal, Saurabh Nautiyal, Nagendra Nath, Vikas Chandra Baluni, Sanjay Rawat, Mohan Singh Rana, Inder Bhan Singh, Manoj Kumar and Jaspal Singh Gosain.

The court of special CBI judge V.K. Maheshwari listed the matter for July 4 hearing.

The judge had in the last week of May issued non-bailable warrants against the policemen.

The staged shootout took place July 3, 2009 when 22-year-old Ranbir Singh, an MBA student from Ghaziabad, was allegedly shot dead in Dehradun by Uttarakhand Police.

The Central Bureau of Investigation chargesheeted 18 policemen. Seven are lodged in Tihar Jail.

Related Stories

    Posted in Uncategorized |