Narathiwat declares 8 districts as disaster zones

December 11th, 2007 - 10:26 am ICT by admin  

Narathiwat, 11 December, 2007 (PRD), Heavy flooding in Narathiwat province has prompted officials in the province to declare up to 8 districts as disaster zones. Provincial administrators revealed the flooding has intensified to a point where some 10 thousand families have had to be evacuated out of the area.

The intense flooding has had no reports of casualties but citizens have had to leave many areas of the province. Estimates show that about 120 villages in 30 tambon have been become uninhabitable. Districts such as Rusoh (รือเสาะ), Sungai Kolok (สุไหงโกลก), Si Sa Khon (ศรีสกล) and Waeng (แว้ง) have been declared disaster zones.

Source : National News Bureau Public Relations Department

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Posted in Thailand |