Abhisit Vejjajiva is the 27th PM of Thailand

December 15th, 2008 - 11:56 am ICT by Bupha Ravirot  

Abhisit VejjajivaThe Excitement is all over as the 27th prime minister was elected today (15 Dec 2008 ). Abhisit Vejjajiva, the Democrat Party leader is elected as new prime minister.

Abhisit Vejjajiva had the support of at least 242 MPs. This number includes 21 Puea Pandin MPs, whose 27-strong party may have been split down the middle. Other MPs to vote for Abhisit include Democrat (167 MPs), Newin Faction (22), the defunct Chart Thai (13), defunct Matchima Thipataya (9), Ruamjai Thai/Chat Pattana (8), Sora-at Klinprathum faction (2).

Abhisit holds slight edge amid hectic last-minute wooing and bargaining.

Abhisit Vejjajiva, 44 years old, a Thai political figure, has been the leader of the Democrat Party since February 2005. The House of Representatives of Thailand on the 15 December 2008 elected him the 27th Prime Minister of Thailand. He is one the youngest Prime Minister of Thailand.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Thailand |