Yeddyurappa to be sworn-in as Karnataka CM today

May 30th, 2008 - 9:14 am ICT by admin  

Bangalore, May 30 (ANI): B.S. Yeddyurappa will be sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka here today.

The swearing-in ceremony will be held at 1.50 p.m. in the Vidhana Soudha.

Governor Rameshwar Thakur will administer oath of office and secrecy to the new Ministers.

A team of 15 to 20 members of the party is expected to take oath as Ministers along with Yeddyurappa, who will head the first-ever BJP Government in Karnataka.

Those expected to join the Yeddyurappa Ministry are Jagadish Shettar, K S Eshwarappa, Shobha Karandlaje, Govind Karjol, C M Udasi, B Sreeramulu, S A Ravindranath, Dr V S Acharya, Ramachandra Gowda, Shankaralinge Gowda, Ramdas, Lakshman Savadi, Vishwveshwara Hegde Kageri, R Ashok, S Suresh Kumar, Yogish Bhat and Krishnaiah Shetty.

BJP President Rajnath Singh, L K Advani, Arun Jaitley, Venkaiah Naidu, Sushma Swaraj and others are expected to attend the ceremony.
Initially, the swearing-in ceremony was scheduled for Thursday. But the date was rescheduled as the Central Government took its time to revoke Presidents rule in the state.

The Union Cabinet met at short notice on Tuesday and decided to request the President to revoke Central rule in Karnataka, to pave the way for the formation of the new government.

The proclamation of imposing President’s rule in Karnataka was issued on November 20, 2007.

The BJP, which won 110 seats out of 224 and fell short by three numbers for simple majority, claims to have the support of some independents.

Meanwhile, the Congress Legislature Party has elected Mallikarjuna Kharge the President of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee, as leader of the Opposition. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |