West Indies retain squad for third ODI

July 9th, 2012 - 5:47 pm ICT by IANS  

Kingston (Jamaica), July 9 (IANS/CMC) The West Indies have named an unchanged side for the third One-Day International against New Zealand starting Wednesday at Warner Park in St Kitts.

This comes after the Windies took a crucial 2-0 lead in the five-match series with a handy 55-run win over the Black Caps at Sabina Park here Saturday.

Last Thursday, they won the opener by nine wickets at the same venue.

There had been speculation over Lendl Simmons’ spot, with the opener gathering just 54 runs in his last six innings, but selectors have decided to stick with the winning combination.

The 13-man squad left here Sunday afternoon for Basseterre which will host the next three ODIs.

The selectors will name the squad for the fourth ODI following Wednesday’s game.

Squad: Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Smith, Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Lendl Simmons, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Tino Best, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul.


Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |