Telecast of India-South Africa test cricket series

March 24th, 2008 - 7:15 pm ICT by admin  

Harbhajan Singh

New Delhi, Mar 24 (ANI): The Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, keeping in mind the Delhi High Court Order in the matter of Ravi Dev Gupta V/s. Union of India and Another, has decided not to declare the India-South Africa test cricket series starting from March 26, 2008 as a sporting event of national importance for the purpose of sharing of broadcast signals with Prasar Bharati.

The Sports Broadcasting Signals (Mandatory Sharing with Prasar Bharati) Act, 2007 has provided for mandatory sharing of sports signals by right owners for all such events which are notified by the Central Government under Clause (s) of sub-section (1) of Section 2 of the said Act and after following the procedure prescribed under the provisions of said Act and rules made thereto.

A three matches test series is starting between India and South Africa from March 26.

The first Test will be played in Chennai from March 26 to 30, the second Test in Ahmedabad from April 3 to 7 and third test match in Kanpur from April 11 to 15.

Squad for Tests include Anil Kumble (Captain), Wasim Jaffer, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Sreesanth, RP Singh, Piyush Chawla (back-up).
South African squad include Graeme Smith (Captain), Ashwell Prince (Vice-captain), Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher (wicket-keeper), AB de Villiers, Jean-Paul Duminy, Paul Harris, Jacques Kallis, Neil McKenzie, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Monde Zondeki. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |