Sunil Gavaskar dropped from IPL Governing Council

September 29th, 2010 - 4:31 pm ICT by IANS  

New Delhi, Sep 29 (IANS) The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Wednesday dropped former captain Sunil Gavaskar from the governing council of the Indian Premier League (IPL) but retained Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi and Ravi Shastri.

The governing council was reconstituted after the board suspended IPL chairman and commissioner Lalit Modi earlier this year over charges of murky dealings.

The BCCI in its 81st annual general meeting here also decided to withdraw suits filed against former president Jagmohan Dalmiya in Bombay High Court and also revoked the expulsion imposed on him in 2006.

In the meeting, secretary N. Srinivasan was elected as the president-elect and will take over from Shashank Manohar next year.

Niranjan Shah, an IPL vice-president, was made the vice-president from the west zone and he replaced Chirayu Amin, who has completed his tenure. Amin is now the chairman of the IPL.

Rajiv Shukla became the vice-president from central zone in place of Modi. The other vice-presidents are Arindam Ganguly (east zone), Arun Jaitley (north zone) and Shivlal Yadav (south zone). Sanjay Jagdale and M.P. Pandove would continue as the joint-secretary and treasurer.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |