Srinivasan set to be BCCI president-elect

September 28th, 2010 - 10:43 pm ICT by IANS  

Mumbai, Sept 28 (IANS) The ouster of suspended Indian Premier League (IPL) chairman Lalit Modi from his post of the Indian cricket board’s vice president and the unanimous elevation of current secretary N. Srinivasan as the president-elect will be the highlights of the 81st annual general meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) here Wednesday.
Srinivasan was the sole candidate for the president-elect’s slot, while incumbent Shashank Manohar would continue as the president as his was the only nomination for the post.

The election of office bearers would be a tame affair with all of them set to be elected unopposed.

Srinivasan, having filed the only nomination for the secretary’s position, would continue in the post and would take over as president after next year’s annual general meeting, when it is the turn of the South Zone - to which he belongs - to get the rotating presidency.

Modi, already suspended from the IPL chairman’s post, would make way for Rajiv Shukla as vice president from Central Zone. IPL vice chairman Niranjan Shah would be the new BCCI vice president from West Zone in place of Chirayu Amin, who has completed his tenure.

Of the five vice-president’s posts, the other three candidates are incumbents - Arun Jaitley from North Zone, Shivlal Yadav (South Zone) and Arindam Ganguly (East Zone) - would continue unopposed.

Joint secretary Sanajay Jagdale and treasurer M.P. Pandove are set to continue unopposed in their posts.

The AGM is also likely to amend the board constitution to cut the tenure of the IPL chairman from five to one year, thereby removing Modi.

The BCCI is poised to introduce the amendment in the wake of the scandal that led to Modi’s suspension from the top post in the IPL, a board sub-committee.

BCCI sources said the AGM could appoint five members in the governing council including two former Test cricketers. Now, three former cricketers — Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi, Sunil Gavaskar and Ravi Shastri - are members of the Governing Council.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |