Sri Lanka Premier League to begin July 19

May 12th, 2011 - 5:55 pm ICT by IANS  

Colombo, May 12 (IANS) The first edition of the Sri Lanka Premier League (SLPL) will be held July 19-August 4.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) have confirmed the dates of SLPL that will see seven provinces competing over the 18 days. The tournament will feature 24 matches and will be telecast live.

Each team will be allowed five overseas players in their squad, of which only four can be named in the XI. Several foreign players including Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Shahid Afridi and Herschelle Gibbs have already signed up for the tournament.

The fixtures of the tournament are yet to be announced.

SLC also unveiled the team names for the provinces.

The seven teams will be: Basnahira Bears, Kandurata Kites, Nagenahira Nagas, Ruhuna Rhinos, Uthura Oryxes, Uva Unicorns and Wayamba Wolves.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |