South Zone one-day meet: TN down Karnataka, Hyderabad on top

February 23rd, 2012 - 9:29 pm ICT by IANS  

Bangalore, Feb 23 (IANS) Hyderabad rode on Ravi Teja’s century and Ashish Reddy’s all-round performance to post a convincing five-wicket win against Goa and consolidate their position at the top of the league table with 13 points in the K.S. Subbaiah Pillai Trophy South Zone One-day tournament here Thursday.

With their third consecutive win, Hyderabad are ahead of holders Tamil Nadu (9), who overcame Karnataka by 62 runs to get their campaign back on track. Tamil Nadu, who picked up five points, thus pushed overnight leaders Karnataka (8) to third spot.

In a tall-scoring match, a century by opener Swapnil Asnodkar (127) carried Goa to 310 for nine, but Hyderabad came up with a strong response with Teja (119) leading the way and Ashish Reddy slamming a 27-ball 66 not out besides taking a five-wicket haul to pick up four points.

Elsewhere, in-form Dinesh Karthik struck his second century of the tournament to help Tamil Nadu to a fluent victory against Karnataka.

Batting first, Tamil Nadu, who had suffered a shock loss to Goa in their previous game, were in dire straits at 17 for 3 and 45 for four, but Karthik’s knock of 137 saw them recover to eventually post 270 for seven.

Karthik dominated a 119-runs partnership for the fifth wicket with Ramaswamy Prasanna (46) and a 71-run association with Suresh Kumar (17) for the sixth while tail-enders Lakshmipathy Balaji (28 not out) and Chandrasekar Ganapathy (5 not out) added a further 32 runs for the unfinished eighth.

In their reply, Karnataka were never really in the hunt and collapsed to 207 all out with opener Robin Uthappa (35) and Sunil Raju (46) being the main contributors. For Tamil Nadu, skipper and seamer Lakshmipathy Balaji came away with three wickets while Rajamani Jesuraj and Suresh Kumar picked up two apiece.

Kerala came up with a strong all-round performance to post their first win in three matches as they beat Andhra by three wickets with two balls to spare.

Prasanth Parameswaram took five for 27 as Andhra made 278 for nine, courtesy half-centuries by opener K Shahbuddin (53), Venugopal Rao (68) and GK Chiranjeevi (53).

Sachin Baby (77) led the Kerala reply that was marked by useful contribution from the lower order batsmen Sanju Vishwanath (41), Rajesh KJ 40) and Padmanabhan Prasanth (31).

Brief scores:

Tamil Nadu 270 for 7 in 50 overs (Dinesh Karthik 137, Ramaswamy Prasanna 46, Lakshmipathy Balaji 28, Abhimanyu Mithun 3 for 48) beat Karnataka 208 all out in 47.3 overs (Robin Uthappa 35, Amit Verma 27, Sunil Raju 46, Abhimanyu Mithun 22, Lakshmipathy Balaji 3 for 49, Rajamani Jesuraj 2 for 27, S Suresh Kumar 2 for 28). Points: Tamil Nadu 5 (total 9), Karnataka -1 (8)

Goa 310 for 9 in 60 overs (Swapnil Asnodkar 127, Reagan Pinto 38, Amit Yadav, 36, Ashish Reddy 5 for 68) lost to Hyderabad: 311 for 5 in 45 overs (DB Ravi Teja 119, P Akshath Reddy 70, B Sandeep 23, Ashish Reddy 66 not out, Robin D’Souza 2 for 68). Points: Hyderabad 4 (13), Goa 0 (4).

Andhra 278 for 9 in 50 overs (K Shahbuddin 53, Y Venugopal Rao 68, Andimani Pradeep 30, G Chiranjeevi 53, Prasanth Parameswaran 5 for 27, Nizar Niyas 2 for 64) lost to Kerala 282 for 7 in 49.4 overs (Jagadeesh VA 44, Sachin Baby 77, Sanju Vishwanath 41, Rajesh KJ 40, Padmanabhan Prasanth 31, T Achutha Rao 2 for 49, P Vijay Kumar 2 for 46). Points: Kerala 4 (4), Andhra 0 (-2).

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |