South Africa win toss, elect to bat in third Test

April 11th, 2008 - 10:55 am ICT by admin  

A file-photo of Harbhajan Singh

Kanpur, April 11 (IANS) South Africa captain Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to bat in the third and deciding Test even as injured India skipper Anil Kumble was ruled out of the match at the Green Park Stadium here Friday. South Africa lead the series 1-0. After Kumble, suffering from a groin problem, failed a fitness this morning, vice-captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni was made captain to lead in his first Test. India made three changes from the XI that lost the second Test by an innings and 90 runs in Ahmedabad. Kumble, Irfan Pathan and Rudra Pratap Singh were replaced by Ishant Sharma, Yuvraj Singh and Piyush Chawla.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain/wicketkeeper), Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Virender Sehwag, V.V.S. Laxman, Wasim Jaffer, Yuvraj Singh, Sreesanth, Ishant Sharma, Harbhajan Singh and Piyush Chawla. 12th man: Mohammed Kaif

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Ashwell Prince, Hashim Amla, Mark Boucher (wicketkeeper), A.B. de Villiers, Paul Harris, Jacques Kallis, Neil McKenzie, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini and Dale Steyn. 12th man: J.P. Duminy

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (West Indies) and Asad Rauf (Pakistan)
TV umpire: G.A. Pratapkumar (India)
Fourth umpire: Sanjeev Dua (India)
Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |