South Africa to host Champions Trophy 2009

March 16th, 2009 - 10:13 pm ICT by ANI  

Dubai, Mar 16 (ANI): The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday said that South Africa would host this years Champions Trophy One Day tournament in September-October.

The eight-team tournament is scheduled to take place from 24 September to 5 October across two venues.

Australia won the last Champions Trophy, which was hosted by India in 2006.

The decision was taken by the ICC after a recommendation last week to shift the tournament from Sri Lanka because of worries of rain during the September-October competition.

The ICC also decided the 2010 ICC World Twenty20 in the West Indies would be held between 30 April and 16 May.

The 2009 ICC World Twenty20 event is being hosted by England between 5 and 21 June.

The Champions Trophy was scheduled to be held in Pakistan last year, but taken away from the strife-torn nation due to security concerns.

The deteriorating security condition of Pakistan and its political instability has seen several teams deciding not to tour the country in the recent times.

Two home series, against Australia and West Indies, were relocated aftermath the 9/11 incident. Then Australia refused to come to Pakistan citing security concerns, and India too pulled out of a tour in the wake of the Mumbai terrorist strikes.

Sri Lanka, originally the reserve venue, was officially declared as the events host in January this year. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |