Smooth sailing for seeds in Bangalore ITF

June 13th, 2012 - 8:02 pm ICT by IANS  

Bangalore, June 13 (IANS) Barring seventh seed Kittiphong Wachiramanowong from Thailand who retired due to stomach ailment after losing the first set, the other fancied players, including top ranked Ti Chen (Chinese Taipei), advanced to the quarter-finals of the $10,000 Toyota ITF Bangalore Open tennis tournament here Wednesday.

After losing the first set 2-6 to Ashwin Vijayaraghavan, Wachiramanowong conceded the match with an upset stomach.

Also advancing to the round of eight were second seed Vishnu Vardhan, third seed Vijayant Malik, and fourth seed Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan.

Vishnu Vardhan, playing at almost half pace, relied heavily on his big serve to beat Abhijeet Tiwari 6-2, 6-3 in just under two hours.

Tiwari had nothing much to offer on the tie except scoring points with his strong forehand, but he lacked consistency and a strong serve to stop Vardhan.

Vardhan, however, uncharacteristically dropped serve in the first game with three double faults, but broke back in the second, fourth and sixth to win the first set at 6-2.

In the second set, Vardhan again cracked Tiwari in the second game and held on strongly with his serve to emerge a 6-3 winner.

Chen crushed Tejas Chaukulkar 6-0, 6-1 while Nedunchezhiyan dumped Jatin Dahiya 6-0, 6-0 in 45 minutes and Malik overcame stiff resistance in the second set from Kunal Anand before winning 6-1, 6-7 (1), 6-4.

The quarter-final lineup: Ti Chen vs Ashwin Vijayragavan; Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan vs Warit Sornbutnark; Ranjeet Virali Murugesan vs Vijayant Malik and N Sriram Balaji vs Vishnu Vardhan.

The results (prefix denotes seeding, Indian unless mentioned):

Singles (pre-quarter-finals): 4-Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan bt Jatin Dahiya 6-0, 6-0; 5-Ranjeet Virali Murugesan bt Zac Itzstein (AUS) 6-0, 6-1; Warit Sornbutnark (THA) bt Ajai Selvaraj 7-6 (2),4-6, 7-6 (1); 3-Vijayant Malik bt Kunal Anand 6-1, 6-7 (1), 6-4; 2-Vishnu Vardhan bt Abhijeet Tiwari 6-2, 6-3; Ashwin Vijayragavan bt 7-Kittiphong Wachiramanowong (THA) (7) 6-2 (retd); 6-N Sriram Balaji bt Venkat Iyer 6-3, 6-4; 1-Ti Chen (TPE) bt Tejas Chaukulkar 6-0, 6-1.

Doubles (quarter-finals): 2-Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan / Ranjeet Virali Murugesan bt Krishik Divakar / Sagar Manjanna 6-3, 6-4; 4-Abhijeet Tiwari / Ashwin Vijayragavan bt Kunal Anand / Ajai Selvaraj 7-6 (1), 5-7, 10-4; 3-Vijayant Malik / Kaza Vinayak Sharma bt Elwin Anthony / Fariz Mohammed 5-7,6-3,10-4; 1-N Sriram Balaji / Arun-Prakash Rajagopalan bt Scott Puod Ziunas (AUS) / Gavin Van Peperzeel (AUS) 6-4,3-6,10-8.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |