Sivakumar the first Indian to be Speaker of Malaysian Assembly

April 26th, 2008 - 2:05 pm ICT by admin  

Kuala Lumpur, Apr 26 (ANI): Tronoh V. Sivakumar (37) created history yesterday when he became the first Indian to assume the chair of Speaker of Malaysia Assembly. He is the 12 th Speaker of the Malaysian Assembly.

Meanwhile, Hee Yit Foong, the DAP assemblywoman for Jelapang and a polio victim, was picked for the deputy speaker’s post.

Sivakumar received 31 votes against his opponent’s 28, while Hee received 30 votes against the 28 obtained by her opponent, reported the New Straits Times Online.

The Pakatan Rakyat grouping of DAP, PKR and Pas won 31 seats against Barisan National’s 28 in the March 8 general election.

BN nominated former speaker Datuk Seri Junus Wahid to retain the position and nominated Chenderiang state assemblyman Mah Hang Soon for the deputy speaker’s post, but both lost. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |