Shillingford nabs five but Kiwis battle to draw

July 23rd, 2012 - 2:44 pm ICT by IANS  

Ross Taylor St. John’s (Antigua), July 23 (IANS/CMC) Off-spinner Shane Shillingford’s five-wicket haul on the final day of the three-day match against New Zealand Sunday was not enough to earn him a spot in the West Indies squad for the first Test against the tourists starting Wednesday.

The right-armer bowled brilliantly to take five for 77 to put the WICB President’s XI on the brink of victory at the Vivian Richards Cricket Ground before the Kiwis battled to a draw as they finished on 181 for eight in their second innings.

Shillingford, however, was not among the 13-man squad named by West Indies selectors Sunday evening.

Facing a deficit of 177 on first innings, New Zealand’s batsmen struggled for the second time in the match.

Brendon McCullum top-scored with 51, Kane Williamson hit 25 while wicketkeeper Kruger van Wyk averted defeat with an unbeaten 38, but were the only three batsmen to show enterprise.

Fast bowler Kemar Roach, who again bowled with pace, prised out Daniel Flynn with a snorter for one with just eight on the board before Martin Guptill dragged on left arm seamer Delorn Johnson for seven at 24 for two.

McCullum and captain Ross Taylor (19) added 60 for the third wicket to steer the Kiwis away from danger before Taylor skied Shillingford to Shiv Chanderpaul at mid-wicket.

At 103 for three, however, New Zealand seemed safe but McCullum top-edged left-arm spinner Veerasammy Permaul to Roach at deep square leg to trigger a slide where five quick wickets fell for 57 runs to leave the match in the balance.

van Wyk, however, batted over two hours to add 23 with Neil Wagner (five not out) for the ninth wicket and secure a draw for the tourists.

Earlier, the President’s XI were dismissed for 326 after resuming at 299 for seven, with Shillingford getting 25 and left-arm spinner Daniel Vettori finishing with six for 48.

Brief Scores:

New Zealand 149 (Kane Williamson 55, Kruger van Wyk 34; Kemar Roach 4-34, Veerasammy Permaul 3-34) and 181 for eight (Brendon McCullum 51, Kruger van Wyk 38 not out, Shane Shillingford 5-77)

WICB President’s XI 326 (Narsingh Deonarine 106, Shiv Chanderpaul 51, Assad Fudadin 38, Devon Thomas 32, Shane Shillingford 25; Daniel Vettori 6-48, Neil Wagner 3-65)


Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |