Sasikiran, Koneru advance in Kolkata Open

March 25th, 2008 - 12:04 am ICT by admin  

Kolkata, March 24 (IANS) Indian GM Krishnan Sasikiran won his opening tie in the first round of the Third Kolkata Open Grandmaster Chess Tournament here Monday. Sasikiran won easily against Taibur Rahman of Bangladesh in 36 moves of a Nimzo Indian Defence.

Playing with the black pieces, it was an easy outing for the top seed who crashed through the queenside with his major pieces.

GM Vladimir Dobrov of Russia was the first grandmaster to win his game defeating Prasenjit Dutta in only 29 moves of a queen’s pawn opening.

Shyam Nikhil caused a big upset by defeating IM Enamul Hossain of Bangladesh, the 10th seed, who showed weakness in his kingside by pushing his pawns.

In another upset, Swapnil Dhopade managed a draw against Ghaem Maghami of Iran. Maghami surprisingly took a quick draw with the white pieces in 20 moves.

GM Sambat Lputian of Armenia also had it easy against IM Chandrasekhar Gokhale winning in 32 moves. Playing with the white pieces he won a pawn and eventually nursed his material advantage into a win.

Arjun Tewari tried out the Guioco Piano opening against GM Koneru Humpy but could not find the right plan and eventually had to concede defeat to the Indian wonder girl. He did, however, manage to stretch the game to 51 moves.

GM Nguyen Ahn Dung of Vietnam won against Sohan Phadke in 28 moves of a Sicilian defence. He broke through on the queenside with his major pieces and forced his opponent to resign.

The local grandmasters managed to win their games against their lower rated opponents. Sandipan Chanda, the fifth seed, managed to win against Mehdi Hasan of Bangladesh.

Hasan tried to steer the game into a draw, but experienced Sandipan managed to squeeze through in 59 moves.

Grandmasters Neelotpal Das and Dibyendu Barua also managed to win their games.

Top board results:

Rahaman Taibur(0) lost to GM Krishnan Sasikiran (1)

GM Smbat Lputian(1) beat IM Chandrasekhar Gokhale (0)

Arjun Tewari (0) lost to GM Koneru Humpy (1)

GM Viktor Laznicka (1) beat IM Rahul Shetty (0)

Mehdi Hasan (0) lost to GM Sandipan Chanda (1)

GM Ghaem Maghami(.5) drew with Swapnil Dhopade (.5)

Shashikant Kutwal (0) lost to Alberto David (1)

GM Adly Ahmed (1) beat Akash Thakur (0)

Sohan Phadke (1) lost to GM Nguyen Ahn Dung (0)

IM Enamul Hossain (0) lost to Shyam Nikhil (1)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |