Rebel Indian Cricket League starts March 9

March 5th, 2008 - 8:43 pm ICT by admin  

New Delhi, March 5 (IANS) Eight teams will compete at Indian Cricket League’s (ICL) next Twenty20 tournament, starting March 9, that will see some top international stars rubbing shoulders with the domestic players of the country. The tournament promises 30 days of scintillating cricket and will be held in three locations - Hyderabad, Chandigarh (Panchkula) and Gurgaon (Haryana).

Two new teams - Ahmedabad Rockets and Lahore Badshahs - have been added to the existing six teams, making the tournament more comprehensive and competitive.

Shane Bond, Marvan Atapattu, Michael Kasprowicz and Craig Macmillan are some of the stars scheduled to play in the league.

Fans can watch the action on Ten Sports & Zee Sports. The tournament will have 34 matches in all. Each team will play against each other once in the league format, followed by semi-finals, third position classification match, and the best of three match finals.

ICL also announced Thursday Edelweiss Capital Limited would be the title sponsor for the tournament and will be called Edelweiss 20s Challenge.

“Edelweiss’s association with the ICL is a support to young domestic Indian players who have been provided with an international standard platform to display their cricketing talent,” Kapil Dev, Chairman, Executive Board, ICL said.

The logo was unveiled at a press conference in Mumbai.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |