Proteas World Cup Twenty20 squad named

May 5th, 2009 - 2:35 pm ICT by ANI  

Johannesburg, May 5 (ANI): Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday named their final 15-man Standard Bank Pro20 squad for the ICC World T20 to be played in England in June.

The squad consists in the main of the players who won the two Pro20 Internationals against Australia earlier this year and contains no new caps.

“Our cricket is entering an exciting period. The players are all in good form and it is particularly pleasing to have so many quality all-rounders at our disposal. As always there are a couple of unlucky players and that emphasizes the excellent competition we have for places,” Sports24 quoted chief selector Mike Procter, as saying.

“I am delighted with the squad the selectors have given me. It is a team with plenty of options - great depth to the batting and plenty of bowling options. It is also an outstanding fielding unit,” Coach Micky Artur said.The squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Johan Botha (vice-captain), Yusuf Abdulla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robbie Peterson, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |