PML-N ministers submit resignations to PM

May 13th, 2008 - 6:18 pm ICT by admin  

Nawaz Sharif

Islamabad, May 13 (ANI): All the nine federal ministers of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) on Tuesday handed over their resignations to Prime Minister Yousuf Reza Gillani over the restoration of deposed judges issue.

The names of the PML-N ministers are Khwaja Saad Rafique, Ishaq Dar, Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, Rana Tanveer Hussain, Tehmina Daulatana, Khwaja Asif, Chaudhry Nisar, Ahsan Iqbal and Sardar Mehtab Khan. Most of them had given up their official security and other protocol arrangements on Monday.

Earlier on Monday, PML-N leader Nawaz Sharif has said that his party has decided to quit the federal cabinet after failure of talks for restoration of the deposed judges.

According to sources, before calling on the PM, the PML-N ministers held a meeting in parliament lodges to finalise their strategy and also consulted party chief Sharif over phone.

Sharif said though the PML-N has decided to withdraw its ministers but his party would continue to give issue-based support to the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP)-led government.

The sources said the ministers told Gilani that their participation in the cabinet was strictly linked to the reinstatement of the judges within 30 days of the government being formed.

After this initial deadline expired on April 30, an extension was made till May 12. After this second deadline also expired, the PML-N ministers had no option but to tender their resignations.

Meanwhile, PPP co-chairman Asif Ali Zardari has convened a meeting of his party’s parliamentarians and legislators on Wednesday to take stock of the political situation after the PML-N’s decision to withdraw from the ruling coalition. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |