Panel selects ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 team of the tournament

April 3rd, 2011 - 3:50 pm ICT by ANI  

Kumar Sangakkara Mumbai, Apr. 3 (ANI): Finalists India and Sri Lanka contribute a total of seven players to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 team of the tournament, which was announced today in Mumbai.

The team was chosen by a select group of experts* who were given the task of picking a balanced side for sub-continental conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

In all, there are four players from beaten finalist Sri Lanka and three from champion India while South Africa, Australia, Pakistan and New Zealand are also represented in the 12-man squad. The captain of the side was named as Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

The panel faced a difficult choice in a number of key positions and the relative merits of several players, who ultimately did not make the final 12, were debated at length. Players who were also considered included Ross Taylor and Jacob Oram of New Zealand, Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann of England, Ireland’s Kevin O’Brien, Kemar Roach and Kieron Pollard of the West Indies, Imran Tahir of South Africa, Upal Tharanga and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka and the Netherlands’ Ryan ten Doeschate.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

Sachin Tendulkar (India)

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka)

Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka, WK and captain)

Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka)

AB de Villiers (South Africa)

Yuvraj Singh (India)

Shane Watson (Australia)

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

Dale Steyn (South Africa)

Zaheer Khan (India)

Muttiah Muralidaran (Sri Lanka)

12th man: Tim Southee (New Zealand)

The selection panel that chose the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 player of the tournament consisted of:: David Richardson (ICC General Manager - Cricket and former South Africa wicketkeeper); Anand Vasu (Deputy Editor of Sports Illustrated); Aleem Dar (Member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and Umpire of the Year 2009 and 2010); Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee and former Sri Lanka captain) and Christopher Martin-Jenkins (journalist and broadcaster). (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |