No England star in FIFA World Player of the Year award

October 27th, 2010 - 6:29 pm ICT by ANI  

Arsenal London, Oct. 27 (ANI): Not a single member of Fabio Capello’s World Cup squad has made the 23-man shortlist for FIFA’s World Player of the Year award.

It is the first time ever that the English game has failed to provide a nominee for the most prestigious gong in football.

According to the Sun, the humiliating snub comes just days after Wayne Rooney became the highest-paid player in the world by signing a 250,000-pound-a-week contract with Manchester United.

Rooney has been a regular nominee for the FIFA award, alongside Three Lions colleagues Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard and John Terry.

FIFA PLAYER OF THE YEAR SHORTLIST: X Alonso (Spa), D Alves (Bra), I Casillas (Spa), D Drogba (IvC), S Eto’o (Cam), C Fabregas (Spa), D Forlan (Uru), A Gyan (Gha), A Iniesta (Spa), Julio Cesar (Bra), M Klose (Ger), P Lahm (Ger), Maicon (Bra), L Messi (Arg), T Mueller (Ger), M Ozil (Ger), C Puyol (Spa), A Robben (Hol), C Ronaldo (Por), B Schweinsteiger (Ger), W Sneijder (Hol), D Villa (Spa), Xavi (Spa).

FIFA COACH OF THE YEAR SHORTLIST: C Ancelotti (Chelsea), V del Bosque (Spain), A Ferguson (Man U), P Guardiola (Barcelona), J Loew (Germany), J Mourinho (Inter/Real Madrid), O Tabarez (Uruguay), L van Gaal (B Munich), B van Marwijk (Holland), A Wenger (Arsenal). (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |