Next cricket World Cup reduced to top 10-team format

February 19th, 2011 - 12:33 pm ICT by ANI  

Sydney, Feb 19 (ANI): The next World Cup edition to be played in 2015 has been reduced to a top ten-team contest unlike the present 14-team event.

Efforts are on to include the best One-day teams in the next World Cup. Following this decision, associate countries, fearing that they may be dropped from the next World Cup, have already voiced protest.

International Cricket Council chief executive officer Haroon Lorgat has stuck to his pledge to cut the World Cup to just 10 teams.

Lorgat’s comments came just a day before the 10th edition of the World Cup kicks off in Dhaka with a clash between Bangladesh and India.

A total of 14 teams are involved in the showpiece event, including the Netherlands, Ireland, Kenya and Canada but the ICC wants to cut the numbers because it has grown too unwieldy.

Lorgat said the World Twenty20 would be increased to 16 teams from 12, while the 50-over World Cup would be trimmed to 10.

“We have felt in the past few years that Twenty20 is the best format to develop the game worldwide and it provides a better environment for competition. The 50-over format is more skill-based and suitable for the top teams,” Lorgat said.

Cricket Kenya chief executive Tom Sears said on Thursday the ICC would not be acting in the interests of the game if the smaller teams were locked out of the next World Cup and Canada on Friday also voiced concerns, The Sydney Morning Herald reports.

Kenya became the first non-Test playing team to reach the semi-finals in 2003, and Ireland produced their biggest upset over Pakistan in the 2007 tournament in the West Indies. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |