NDA, UPA nominees win Bihar RS poll, NCP wins Meghalaya RS seat

March 26th, 2008 - 11:16 pm ICT by admin  

Patna/ Shillong, Mar 26 (ANI): All nominees of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and United Progressive Alliance (UPA) have won their Rajya Sabha elections in Bihar that were held today. In Meghalaya the Nationalist Congress Party has given a blow to the Congress Party by registering a win on the lone Rajya Sabha seat of the state.
Union Minister of State for Company Affairs Premchand Gupta of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) won the biennial elections to five Rajya Sabha from Bihar.
In Bihar, former Union Health Minister C P Thakur of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led the tally followed by Janata Dal (United) JD (U) national spokesperson Shivanand Tiwari, his party colleague N K Singh, Premchand Gupta of RJD and Sabir Ali of LJP. Govind Pandey (Independent) got just one vote.
In Meghalaya, NCP candidate Thomas A Sangma defeated Congress nominee and former Chief Minister S C Marak. (ANI)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |