Nayar, Saha, Jadeja in T20 probables list

April 4th, 2009 - 5:57 pm ICT by IANS  

Harbhajan Singh Mumbai, April 4 (IANS) Defending champions India Saturday included youngsters Ravindra Jadeja, Abhishek Nayar and Wriddhiman Saha in the 30-member preliminary squad for the Twenty20 cricket World Cup in England this June.
Selectors also included comeback man Lakshmipathy Balaji, who performed consistently in the domestic season. Robin Uthappa, too, got a look-in after a long gap.

The list will be pruned to 15 later.

India’s title triumph hero Joginder Sharma failed to find a spot among the probables.

Ajit Agarkar and Piyush Chawla and injured S. Sreesanth were the other omissions from the squad that won the inaugural T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni, donning the captaincy hat for the first time, had scripted India’s success story last year, that sent the popularity of the game’s shortest version soaring in the cricket-mad country.

The probables: Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, Pragyan Ojha, Harbhajan Singh, Praveen Kumar, Dinesh Karthik, Murali Vijay, Ajinkya Rahane, Subramaniam Badrinath, Robin Uthappa, Virat Kohli, Manoj Tiwary, Wriddhiman Saha, Abhishek Nayar, Amit Mishra, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rudra Pratap Singh, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Dhawal Kulkarni and Naman Ojha.

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |