Nagraj, Jyothi fastest athletes in Federation Cup

February 26th, 2008 - 10:56 pm ICT by admin  

Bhopal, Feb 26 (IANS) Jharkhand’s B.G. Nagraj and Andhra Pradesh’s H.M. Jyothi emerged as the fastest man and women as they won the 100 metres gold medals in the 14th Federation Cup Athletics here Tuesday. Nagraj touched the tape in 10.70 seconds to retain the gold medal, ahead of Jamaluddin, who clocked 10.81 sec and Ritesh Anand, who finished with 10.87 sec.

In the women’s event, Jyothi of Andhra Pradesh won the gold in 11.89 sec while Mandeep Kaur settled for the silver with a timing of 11.93 sec.

In women’s 100m hurdles, Orissa’s Anuradha Biswal, the meet and national record holder, was disqualified for not confirming her participation in 100m heats held earlier in day. Though Biswal won with a timing of 13.75sec, she had to forfeit her medal.

Jharkhand’s Poonam Bojanna, who finished behind Biswal with a timing of 14.13s, was declared the winner, followed by Shreema Priyadharshini, who clocked 14.22 sec.

In men’s triple jump, Indian Grand Prix winner Amarjeet Singh didn’t get a tough challenge in the absence of Renjith Maheswari, who is in the US for training. Amarjeet cleared 16.19m to win the gold. His sequence of jumps were 15.78 metres, 15.53, foul, foul, 16.19m and 16.15m.

Surender Singh won the 5,000m men’s gold in the 14.16:18 ssec.


Men’s triple jump:
Amar Jeet Singh (Jharkhand) 16.19 metres
B. Mathew (Indian Navy) 15.74m
Malkiat Singh (Punjab) 15.53m

Women’s high jump:
Sahana Kumari (Jharkhand) 1.81m
Siji N.K. (Kerala) 1.70m
Mallika Mondal (West Bangal) 1.65m

Women’s 100m hurdles:
Poonam Bojanna (Jharkhand) 14.13 sec
Shreema Priyadarshini (Karnataka) 14.22 sec
P. Lakshmi (Tamil Nadu) 14.91 sec

Men’s hammer throw:
Shanawaj Khan (Uttar Pradesh) 59.64m
Madhu Kumar (Haryana) 59.11m
Jitender Singh (CRPF) 58.22m

Men’s 100 run:
B.G. Nagraj (Jharkhand) 10.70 sec
Jamalludin (Karnatka) 10.81 sec
Ritesh Anand (Jharkhand) 10.87 sec

Women’s 100m:
H.M. Jyothi (Andhra Pradesh) 11.89 sec
Mandeep Kaur (Punjab) 11.93 sec
K. Sowjanya (andhra pradesh) 11.98 sec

Men’s 5,000 run:
Surender Singh (ASCB) 14:16.18 sec
Sandeep Batham (Madhya Pradesh) 14:23.79 sec
Santosh Patel (Jharkhand) 14:24.74 sec

Women’s 5,000m:
Kavita Raut (Maharastra) 16:48.37 sec
Preeja Sreedharan (Kerala) 16:48.69 sec
Preeti L. Rao (Jharkhand) 17:12.95 sec

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |