Muralitharan named Ceat Cricketer of the Year

November 14th, 2007 - 2:32 am ICT by admin  
Muralitharan, who also won the International Bowler’s honour, received 7,500 and 5,000 dollars respectively for the two awards.

“I had a great year taking about 96 wickets, and it has been my career best performance,” said Muralitharan.

“With a little bit of hard work and considerable encouragement from my compatriots without whom it would not possible to garner so many wickets, since they have to hold on to all catches and field well, the main focus was to take wickets and make Sri Lanka win,” added Muralitharan.

The CEAT Cricket Year commences on May 1 and ends on April 30. The cricketer and team garnering the highest number of points in their categories at the end of this period are the winners.

This year, CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) awards also celebrated the diamond jubilee of the India, Australian Test series, and gave away the specially created Lifetime Achievement Award to leg spinner Anil Kumble and Ponting, both of whom were given a cheque of 5000 dollars each.

The Lifetime Achievement award recipients have been selected on the basis of the Retro-CEAT Ratings and were decided taking into consideration the performances of Indian and Australian players in Test matches since 1947.

Eminent cricketers from India and Australia, besides the glitterati of Mumbai, were attended the award function. (ANI)

Related Stories

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |