Mumbai Indians have a chance to make it to semi-finals

May 17th, 2008 - 7:41 pm ICT by admin  

Hyderabad, May 17 (IANS) After their easy win over Kolkata Knight Riders Friday night, Mumbai Indians are back in the reckoning for a semi-final spot in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and will have a chance to strengthen their claim when they take on Deccan Chargers here Sunday. Mumbai Indians, who were having a tough time before the return of Sachin Tendulkar, have now moved up to the third spot in the eight team league. Knight Riders are in fourth place and Delhi Daredevils in fifth.

All three teams are now in the race for the last semi-final slot. All three have won five matches each, but its advantage Mumbai Indians as they have played just nine games, one less than Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils.

A win against the troubled Deccan Chargers, whose chances of qualifying for the knock-ot stage are virtually over, will help Mumbai Indians immensely.

But with their backs to the wall, Deccan Chargers may pose a stiff challenge.

Deccan Chargers captain V.V.S. Laxman made a tactical decision by making himself unavailable for the rest of the season with an injury and in his absence Australian Adam Gilchrist has led the side well. Gilchrist will be looking to end the team’s three-match losing streak and will come hard at the Mumbai Indians.

The Chargers will need something special to stop Mumbai Indians opener Sanath Jaysuriya. The Sri Lankan has been on fire and has been tearing bowling attacks apart.

Mumbai Indians captain Tendulkar has so far failed after his return. Buoyed by the expectations of his fans, the master blaster will be looking to break all shackles.

Teams (From)

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Luke Ronchi (wicketkeeper), Ajinkya Rahane, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Shaun Pollock, Loots Bosman, Dominic Thornely, Manish Pandey, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Aniket Chavan, Siddharth Chitnis, Gaurav Dhiman, Dilhara Fernando, Musavir Khote, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rajesh Pawar, Saurabh Tiwary, Ashwell Prince, Rohan Raje, Pinal Shah, Swapnil Singh, Yogesh Takawale (wicketkeeper), Vikrant Yeligati

Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (captain/wicketkeeper), Sanjay Bangar, Halhadar Das, Herschelle Gibbs, Scott Styris, D. Kalyankrishna, Pragyan Ojha, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, R.P. Singh, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Venugopal Rao, Paidikalva Vijaykumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |