Mumbai Indians first team to win six games in row (Statistical Highlights)

May 19th, 2008 - 8:23 am ICT by admin  

Hyderabad, May 18 (IANS) Mumbai Indians, after beating Deccan Chargers here Sunday night, became the first team to register six consecutive victories in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Earlier, Mumbai Indians had lost four matches in a row.

Other statistical highlights of the match:

# Under Sachin Tendulkar’s captaincy, Mumbai Indians have won three games in a row.

# He is the only captain not to have lost a single game in the IPL.

# Sanath Jayasuriya, with two sixes, became the first batsman to post 20 sixes in the IPL, eclipsing Virender Sehwag’s tally of 19 sixes.

# Jayasuriya has taken his aggregate to 336 at an average of 42.00 in 10 games - the most by any player from Mumbai Indians.

# R.P. Singh (3/35) produced his best bowling figures in IPL.

# R.P. Singh, with 15 wickets at 23.86 runs apiece in 11 matches, is the leading wicket-taker in the IPL, bettering Shane Warne’s figures of 14 for 18.78 runs apiece in 10 matches.

# Venugopal Rao (2/25) produced his best bowling figures in the IPL.

# Adam Gilchrist’s aggregate of 335 runs at an average of 33.50 in 11 games is the highest by a wicketkeeper in the IPL, eclipsing Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s aggregate of 332 at an average of 47.42 in 11 matches.

# Rao (58 off 38 balls) registered his second fifty in the IPL. His highest is 71 not out off 42 balls against Kolkata Knight Riders at Hyderabad May 11.

# Bravo produced his career-best performance in Twenty20.

# Ravi Teja (37) recorded his highest ever score in Twenty20.

# Deccan Chargers became the first team to lose nine games in the IPL.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Posted in Sports |